Bertram Allen best of the Irish in Longines Grand Prix of Ireland to close Dublin Horse Show 2023

Bertram Allen and Pacino Amiro (ISH) Photo: Laurence Dunne/

The final international competition at the 2023 Dublin Horse Show saw a French winner in the Longines Grand Prix of Ireland, with Francois Xavier Boudant and Brazyl du Mezel becoming the first French combination to lift the trophy since 1995. 

Only three of the 12 riders who made it into the jump-off went clear again against the clock, with Britain’s Harry Charles and Romeo 88 finishing as runners-up ahead of fellow Britain Samuel Hutton and Casablanca-Hafter in third. Wexford’s Bertram Allen finished best of the Irish in fourth with the Irish-bred Pacino Amiro (ISH). The Wexford rider had the fastest time against the clock but one fence down prevented him from reclaiming the trophy he won in 2014 with the grey mare Molly Malone. Tipperary’s Trevor Breen continued his recent impressive run of form when finishing fifth with Highland President, while the top six was completed by Switzerland’s Bryan Balsiger and Chelsea Z.

The earlier Speed Championship went to Derry’s Jordan Coyle and Ariso after a thrilling competition. They finished just over half-a-second ahead of runner-up Cian O’Connor with Donegal, while third place went to Switzerland’s Martin Fuchs with Viper Z.

The International Seven & Eight Year Old competition saw Sligo’s Kevin Gallagher take the top prize with Thor Ter Wilgen Z. All of the top three finishers were seven-year-olds with runner-up spot going to Francis Derwin and Leonardo while Gemma Phelan and Curraghgraigue Jack Bro (ISH) finished third.

Young Horses

The Five Year Old ‘Flexible’ National Championship was won by Gone Girl VB (ISH), bred by Eleanor Byrne, ridden by Kilkenny’s Vincent Byrne and owned by Lorraine McGuinness. Another Kilkenny rider, Ger O’Neill partnered Ballinaguilkey Special Star (ISH) to second place, while third spot went to Niamh McEvoy and Boleybawn Alvaro (ISH).

There was a poignant win in the Six-Year-Old Cruising National Championship at the Dublin Horse Show. Laurina (ISH) bred by Dr Noel Cawley who sadly passed away earlier this year, claimed victory with Laura Stack in the saddle. BP Tiny Dancer (ISH) bred by Greg Broderick Ballypatrick Stables and ridden by Niamh McEvoy finished as runners-up while third place went to Kathleen’s Candy Clover (ISH), bred by Kathleen O’Reilly and ridden by John Mulligan.

The AIRC Team Show Jumping Championship saw victory going to the Carrickmines team of Martina Delaney, Lucile Riaboff, Rory O’Keeffe and Selina Ann Osborne. In the Children On Horses individual Championship, Westmeath’s Ted Fagan scooped the winners prize with Bella M.


Pacino Amiro (ISH) – 2012 gelding by Pacino (BWP) out of Carnone Dancing Queen (ISH) by NC Amiro (AES). Breeder: Simon Scott, Co. Donegal. Owner: Aiden McGrory.

Gone Girl VB (ISH) 2018 mare by Emerald Van’T Ruytershof (BWP) out Bellisimo (ISH) by Cobra (HOLST) Bred by Eleanor Byrne. Owned by LMG Enterprises

Laurina (ISH) mare by Stakkato Gold (HANN) out of Rincarina (ISH) by Cruising (ISH) bred by Noel Cawley owned by Noel Cawely and ridden by Leah Stack.
Photo: Laurence Dunne